Forums
This thread relates to...
GarageBand 101
Absolute Beginner's Guide
by: Vanacoro
More Info
  • Student469162
    Re: Piano roll
    So cmd c, locate and cmd v? Repeatedly locate the playback cursor to desired location means again cmd c locate and cmd v? Or how?
  • Joe A
    Yes, to Copy & Paste a note select the note, Command-C, locate to where you want to place the note, Command-V. You should be able to do the same thing by Option-dragging the note repeatedly.
  • Student469162
    I watched the 6th video in 109 music theory for daw musicians. He divides the notes (scissors are seen), but he doesn't say, how he does it. Also, he makes two smaller notes as one bigger note, again not telling how he does it. I only saw a mouse on the note, scissors and voila! it happens, but how did it happen... ?
  • Joe A
    Remember, he's not teaching you how the DAW works in that course, he's just teaching you music theory. His examples are in Logic, so he's using Logic's Scissor Tool to divide notes and Logic's Glue Tool to combine two shorter notes (of the same pitch) into one longer note. Those tools are NOT available in GarageBand. In GB you can divide a note by selecting it, positioning the playback cursor where you want to cut the note, and hitting Command-T. Sometimes Command-J seems to work to join two shorter notes (of the same pitch) into one longer note, but most of the time Command-J DOESN'T work, so if you have two shorter notes (of the same pitch) you'd have to manually Trim the edge of one of the notes (and delete the other one) to make one longer note.
  • Student469162
    Master echo and master reverb, is it necessary to use them? Any particular music type? What is the difference of them (my dictionary gives for echo and reverb the same translation) ?
  • Joe A