Forums
This thread relates to...
GarageBand 101
Absolute Beginner's Guide
by: Vanacoro
More Info
  • Joe A
    Re: Amount of projects and memory
    I've attached a basic GarageBand course [click More Info in the graphic at the top] -- that should provide a lot of answers. - I wouldn't use iCloud unless you're collaborating with someone -- it's easy to lose track of dependent audio files - Correct, recording voice or any real [physical] instrument will create [large] audio files [7.5MB/min/track]; recording on a Software Instrument track will not [adding only a tiny bit to the size of the Project itself] - With GB a Project is usually a particular song - 24-bit recordings have wider dynamic range and low-level audio is cleaner [subtly better sound quality] -- it's the standard nowadays
  • Student469162
    You write that at 24-bit resolution audiofiles will take up 7, 5mb per minute per mono track. Why mono? I need all my sound will be in stereo. I already have 24-bits selected there by default, but i already have selected export projects at full volume by default, but on the screenshot you haven't selected the last one, why? Is that bad will be selected export projects at full volume or what for it good?
  • Joe A
    It's just a reference measurement for file size -- if you record in stereo your stereo [2-channel] audiofiles will simply be twice as big per minute. The "full volume" option may change the level of the finished recording -- professional engineers/mixers don't use it because they need to control the overall level of finished recordings manually [especially for streaming services] but it's up to you if you want it on or off.
  • Student469162