Ask.Video
Forums
  • Yusef
    Jumping to transients?
    Hi everyone... I'm brand new to Logic 8 & fairly amateur when it comes to editing audio in general, however I have a question that could use some answering : ) For the last few years I've used Pro Tools to do most of my audio editing and have become used to using the tab button on my keyboard to jump from/to transient sounds while editing. Is there a command that can perform this same feature in Logics Sample Editor while setting an anchor & region boundaries, or do I need to become more familiar with the look of an audio wave and set them free hand? Thank you!
  • Chrl
    Re: Jumping to transients?
    There is the "Search peak" command in the functions local menu. You can setup a key command for "search peak" for the sample edit window. Hope it helps!
  • Yusef
    Christian..thank you so much. This does really help!!! ; )
  • Yusef
    You know what...this sounded like it was right, but it still doesn't give me the same feature I was used to in Pro Tools. As an example...say you where editing a song and wanted to start right at the first kick & avoid a static effect that was used as an intro. Hitting tab on Pro Tools would give you that first kick on the fly. Similarly you could select an spot previous to, but close to the fifth bar & by hitting the tab button again you could select the next kick (or closest transient sound) & cut the four bars out to use as a loop. This created a very simple method to edit...I know there has to be a feature like this on Logic 8. Can anyone help please?
  • Chrl
    Here's some tips : 1-Select a few bars with marquee too in the arrange. 2-Hit shift-right arrow...(set marquee start to next transient Key COmmand) this will will set marquee start to first transient. (arrows without shift will select marquee end). 3-The "Go to selection start" (by default shift-retutn) will move the playhead to the start of the marquee.
  • steveH