Ask.Video
Forums
  • Marty McFly
    Soft synths and MainStage with a dedicated mac?
    Hey guys... a new Logic and MainStage brother... old hardware player stepping into the the new world of soft synths. I use Loop Community Prime to act as a player... running backing tracks. I am picking up an Arturia Keylab Mark 2 as my controller. Wondering if I can/should use my mac in a dedicated fashion to run my soft synths/ MainStage etc... and then just have a dedicated Ipad to run the Prime player. I keep hearing that MainStage can use a lot of juice so wondering if I should just let the MacBook contend with that and run the backtracks etc... off an iPad as opposed to have the Prime software running the show of backing tracks and have the Arturia control the soft synths in the background. I am a newbie and appreciate any thoughts from older brothers and sisters in the craft. Blessings. Marty McFly
  • Joe A
    Re: Soft synths and MainStage with a dedicated mac?
    Hi Marty - MainStage does seem to use a lot of juice, but it's the softsynths that eat up CPU -- simply playing backing tracks should be relatively low-impact. Since MS can handle that as well, I would think it might be worth giving a try at running everything from within MS to see if that can work for you, avoiding the complication of multiple devices..?
  • Marty McFly