Ask.Video
Forums
  • ulrichburke
    Making sounds 'Soft', yet loud, in Reason 3
    Dear Anyone. Got an M-Audio Audiophile 2496 soundcard, 1 gig Ram, Reason 3 on a PC with an AMD Sempron motherboard. F'starters, let's make you all cringe. I'm a PC user, but I'm hoping Reason works the same way on Macs because I'm getting no sense from the PC forums. And I'm not a Techno writer, I'm a wannabe New Age musician. Gentle piano/flute/orch. sounds and soft, buzzy strings with everything. Which is my BIG problem. Making things sound gentle. If I turn down the velocity on the piano, it gets so quiet you can't hear it even with the volume on 127. If I turn the velocity back up, it sounds like it's being played with a sledgehammer. If I add reverb to try to cover that up, it just sounds like a sledgehammer in an echo chamber. Exactly the same with everything else. If it's audible, it's too HARSH. If I turn down velocity to kill the harshness, it's too quiet. And that's with volume on 127!! Think of Richard Clayderman/Yanni/any piano-and-strings/flute-and-strings piece of New Age you've heard. Lovely, soft, buzzy strings, soft pianos, soft flutes but they're all AUDIBLE!! Please, how do you make things sound soft without them going too quiet? And how do you get that wonderful soft, buzzy string sound? This prob's been killing me ever since Reason 3 first came out and someone told me to buy it. Nobody seems to know how to do this. But it must be simple as so many artists ARE doing it. The books don't tell you how to create softness, just that velocity creates hardness. Which I know. I want softness and audibility. Is it possible? Yours hopefully - sorry I'm not a mac user - ulrichburke
  • Rounik Admin
    Re: Making sounds 'Soft', yet loud, in Reason 3