Ask.Video
Forums
  • PlasticDoll
    Omnisphere 2.5 Hardware Synth Integration: gorgeous synths, but do we get the sounds?
    Hello all, and thank you for allowing me to participate here. I am a longtime music pro and teacher, and have a strong interest in Omnisphere. Before i buy though, quick question. The beautiful synth sounds, each characteristic of the synth they're referencing in this demo for Omni 2.5 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BypwhO0IDy0 and also at the NAMM expo for Omni 2.6 feature such beautiful synth sounds, the Moog Voyager, Nord, the Roland and Korg synths, etc... I get the point about the integration with hardware synths, if you're lucky enough to own them... but can a user of 2.6 call up those sounds and play them as usual with his keyboard controller? Are they available as patches? Thanks so much for any reply.
  • Joe A
    Re: Omnisphere 2.5 Hardware Synth Integration: gorgeous synths, but do we get the sounds?
    Hi PlasticDoll - As far as I can tell, the "hardware integration" they're referring to is simply a more advanced setup for using the controls (knobs, sliders, etc) on specific hardware synths to control/program parameters in Omnisphere, which then will mimic the sounds/parameters of the specific synth(s) being used as a controller, but the sounds are coming from Omnisphere itself -- so even with a generic controller keyboard I'm sure the sounds would still be the same. The documentation talks about controlling *Omnisphere sounds* with hardware controls: https://support.spectrasonics.net/manual/Omnisphere2/25/en/topic/hardware-synth-integration As to whether all those patches are included with a base purchase of Omnisphere, or if you have to purchase then as extra $ expansion packs, I guess you'd have to check with Spectrasonics, but I don't see any expansion packs in their webstore, so I'd guess everything is included in a basic install..
You must be logged in to post a reply